Employment/Money Help.....

Posted 3rd Nov
Hi all, newbie here and looking for some advice.

My boyfriend along with another 200 people were made redundant in July, although are being kept on until the end of december when the office officially shuts down. He has had his redundancy letter and meeting and confirmed last working day is december 29th.

Previous to this, from Jan to March he had time of sick with sciatica which was fully covered with doctors certificates and he then returned to work. It is now November and on the 1st he had one day off sick (48 hour bug) in over 8 months. They have now called him in for a meeting next week where he feels they are going to let him go due to his sickness, although he feels they are finding any excuse to dismiss people to save in redundancy money. We are both clueless with employment law and although iv tried my best to do my own research, i cannot really find the answer i am looking for.

So my question is, if they pull him in for this meeting and want to dismiss him based upon sickness, how does he stand with this.... he has had not a single day off since he returned to work, and now he takes one day off sick genuinally he feels they will try to get rid of him because of this, We just want him to go into the meeting with some information and whether he has a leg to stand on.

Thank you for taking the time to read this
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

Top comments
I'd recommend you give acas a call. They'll be better suited to offer any guidance - acas.org.uk/hel…ine
27 Comments
I'd recommend you give acas a call. They'll be better suited to offer any guidance - acas.org.uk/hel…ine
Can/have you got his contract available? If not ask for a delay so they can find him a copy of his contract and to get a person to go in and take notes
Some places have it on a total days off basis, a lot of places have it on a different days off basis
I. E - 5 days off = 1 episode
5 different mondays off = 5 episodes