Engine management light

Found 5th Jul 2015
Will my car fail its mot if eml is on ?
thanks.

Shared Via The HUKD App For Android.
Community Updates
Ask
17 Comments
I would say yes ,i'm no expert mine had the same issue and was told it needed fixing, turned out to be as simple as an EGR valve ....
no its nothing to do with mot but its a warning that some things not right with your engine so get it checked out
Eml does not fail mot... Its an advisory.
Thanks will get it checked out.
katchiib

Eml does not fail mot... Its an advisory.

Correct
unless its on because of the catalyst, lambda sensor, or misfire then it could fail on emissions.
hi Katie you can buy a fault code reader from eBay for £7 and you can pair it with your phone on a free app it will tell you the code
wkhaliq

hi Katie you can buy a fault code reader from eBay for £7 and you can … hi Katie you can buy a fault code reader from eBay for £7 and you can pair it with your phone on a free app it will tell you the code

Some cars like Ford have this feature built in.
vauxhall have it built in as well. Just certain order of pressing the pedals and turning on at a certain time
for some fords, you press the milometre reset and turn ignition on whiles keeping it presses, after approx 3 seconds, all the dials will go into test, then keep pressing the button to scroll through. works on mk1 focus unsure and i imagine others around that era.

some vauxhalls . . usually 2000-2006 era . press the brake and acclerator pedal, and turn ignition on whilst keeping pedals pressed. the engine management light will start flashing. simply count the flashes a slight pause takes you to the next number and so on, the longer pause will then take you to the next code or if only 1 code will start again. if no codes present, it will just constantly flash with no pauses.
exhample . . .
flash, flash, flash. . . . flash, flash . . . . flash flash flash flash flash . . . .flash flash. . .. . . .. . . . .. . . . .