Posted 21st Dec 2022
Hi, I'm needing an 8m extension lead which has a minimum of 8 sockets with surge protection. Can anyone recommend one please?

It's just for computer office/games consoles/monitor.

Also, is it safe to run a 2 gang extension lead from it just for a light? I know you shouldn't daisy chain them but my room is a bit complicated and would need to do this for a light.

Thanks
Community Updates
Ask
New Comment

35 Comments

sorted by
  1. Avatar
    I didn't know that you could get extension leads with that many sockets but even if you could you plan to add two more to the load, so that's ten appliances all plugged into one socket. I'm no electrician but that doesn't sound feasible to me.
    You can get 10 and 12 gang which are 13amps. No issues so long as you're not exceeding the rating. 

To the OP though I have this one in my other half's home office and had it since 2019 and its been perfect. 
    Duronic 12 Way Extension Lead Tower ST12B | 12 Gang Power Strip Cord | Surge & Spike Protector | UK Plug Sockets | BLACK | Electric Multi Plug Adapter | Max. 3000W Capacity | 1.8 Meter Power Cable amzn.eu/d/d…LYD

They also do an 8way but the 10way is cheaper
    Deal: Duronic Extension Lead Tower ST10B Power Strip Cord Adaptor 10 Gang Way | Surge & Spike Protector| Electric UK Multi Plug Socket Adapter | Max. 3000W Capacity | 1.8 Metre Power Cable amzn.eu/d/h…AGg

2. Avatar
    You would need yo buy surge protection with 8 sockets and swap the 1m cable for 8m. Not really best plan.

Other way is to add another surface mounted double socket in trunking along wall where you want it.
    I'd think your best bet is to get electrician to add you more sockets.

Re surge protection. They are fitting surge protection at fuse boxes now. (edited)
  3. Avatar
    Author
    Yeah that's what I need. But then can I run a 2 gang extension from it for a light?
  4. Avatar
    CPC have a large selection of extension leads cpc.farnell.com/c/e…ads