FAQ MegaThread for Western Digital WD Recertified Drives and NAS

Found 20th AprEdited by:"ElBuc"
I think there is a need for a FAQ list regarding the recertified internal, external, portable hard drives and NAS devices from WD. A link can then be added to future WD recertified offers on HUKD.

I expect this to be continually evolving so please feel free to add questions and answers, suggest a better format, or correct the information. You can give general advice and info relating to specific products.

Disclaimer: I'm by no means a tech expert, I just own quite a few WD products. Also I do not and never have worked for WD.

2928847.jpg
Here goes for starters:

--------------------------------------------------------

WD Recertified: Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. Are WD recertified drives 'second hand' or faulty?
What does recertified mean?

A1. They say “WD recertified products may consist of customer return units and may be repaired.”

Parts of recertified drives may have been salvaged from products purchased before, and sent back as faulty. This could be for a number of reasons but it is widely accepted that the only the good parts are reused.

These faulty parts which have been replaced would typically be the circuit board, external ports or simply a damaged case or cable. It is unlikely to be anything inside the sealed drive itself as replacing the actual metal discs/plates, the moving heads, or anything else deep inside the drive would be too time consuming, and would involve an operation in a sterile, dust free environment – something akin to open heart surgery. The cost and effort involved would easily outweigh the profit from the resale.

Recertified items are always supplied with cables, power and brand new gleaming casing, so in use they look exactly the same as a new product. The box they come in is usually plain and generic but protected with foam necessary for protection during shipping.