Groups

First car advice needed

I'm a first time driver, have just passed my test last week and looking to get my first car. Budget is £1000 ish for an automatic car

So my main queries are wanting something cheap to insure, cheap to run and maintain, won't break down and cheap to fix if it does break down.

I have no idea where to begin or look so any advice or tips would be great

have been looking on Auto trader and Gumtree, I don't know which filters to narrow down search or what is a good car worth going to take a look at .

Secondly Insurance is coming up around £2,400 any idea how I can reduce this. Am over 30 and only just passed my test and am planning on buying an automatic car.

27 Comments

Peugeot 206. It's cheap as chips you can pick one up for 1k easily.
    Super reliable. Costs about £30 to tax. Cheap to insure.

You can reduce your insurance by being black boxed if you like. They install a telematics box that monitors your driving habits. Although you would have to drive like you were on your driving test for the entire year. No breaking the speed limit etc. No excessive braking etc.

To reduce insurance I believe the newer the car the cheaper it sets!
    Try compare sites by editing vehicle to see what happens.

We bought our daughter a Matiz the engine size is approximately 800cc this made the insurance very cheap. She kept it for 2 years. She insured with Admiral who offer 10 months insurance though when you renew this is classed as a year. I do hope this info is up to date. She is now driving a brand new golf, her insurance is cheaper than mine.

£2.5 grand for insurance is scandalous, is the industry even regulated? i mean they increase the price day by day and then say its linked to Risk factors.

chrsinne