Fishing Tackle for Beginner (9-year old)

Posted 30th Sep
I'm looking at fishing tackle for a 9-year-old as an absolute beginner (me too). Amazon has a cheap set like this one: Roddarch Beginner Fishing Rod.

I am torn between the reviews that it's cheap/adequate (in case he soon gets bored) versus spending more on better quality gear (for the longer term). Plus we'll need a fishing license for £30.

We have a well stocked fishing pond nearby but may not be as successful as on our first attempt at fishing while on holiday in Italy where we caught two in a hour.

Any advice on what to buy would be greatly appreciated!
Community Updates
Ask
15 Comments
Try him on a pole, far easier to learn. They are cheap too for beginners. He won’t require a license and you can buy a day or week license and not have to fork out for a full license. Have a look for clubs to join for beginners with some supplying all the tackle for lessons.
learn a few knots.
Margin pole, cheap as chips, fish the edges and still get great fish, for bait if carp just buy a tub of hook pellets and feed the same size pellets over the top, if it's other fish a pint of maggots and you will catch, the ponds these days are full of fish
Edited by: "Douglas_Birks" 30th Sep
Thanks @englands28 , @Mr_Gus and @Douglas_Birks for kindly taking the time to reply.

Is it best to visit a fishing shop and pick up the shopping list at a fishing tackle shop?

There are three not too far away from here but I'm concerned that if I head in as a novice then I will get up-sold into buying more and better quality gear than I need.

The local pond has perch, roach, bream, tench and carp apparently - so I guess they prefer different baits etc. A day fishing license is £6 and £3 fees for the pond. I will look out for a local club as you suggest.

@Mr_Gus - which knots and for what purpose?
Edited by: "neversay" 30th Sep