Expired

Ford Focus boot problems

Found 5th Feb 2013
So basically my focus is acting up, i can only open the boot manually using the key (bit of a pain when im weighed down with bags) the button on my fob inst doing anything nor is "open boot" button on the dash. I took it to a local garage who wants £130 to change the lock but i reckon its maby a fuse issue? anybody have any experience with this issue?

1. Ask
  2. Ford
  3. Movie
16 Comments

I doubt it is the lock rather the mechanism that pulls the catch open, possibly a simple job, check a Haynes manual for details. PS Haynes would also show you the fuse details. SO perhaps worth glancing at in Halfords.
Edited by: "IamMT" 5th Feb 2013

Banned

Just try a new fuse oO

Original Poster

csiman

Just try a new fuse oO

when it comes to cars im a complete novice, havnt got a clue where the fuses are located

Banned

Adam1990

when it comes to cars im a complete novice, havnt got a clue where the … when it comes to cars im a complete novice, havnt got a clue where the fuses are located

Rtfm

Original Poster

csiman

Rtfm

read the manual ok.. if i even have one

http://www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=250393

or ask here
focusowners.com/hom…081

I had a similar issue on my 55 plate mk2 focus. Except i could open it from the key but not from the switch.

It turned out that water had got into the switch and corroded it, was a simple and quite cheap fix. Its easy to do as well.

Banned

118luke

I had a similar issue on my 55 plate mk2 focus. Except i could open it … I had a similar issue on my 55 plate mk2 focus. Except i could open it from the key but not from the switch.It turned out that water had got into the switch and corroded it, was a simple and quite cheap fix. Its easy to do as well.

I doubt both have failed at the same time oO

solenoid gone faulty ?

Original Poster