Fruit trees

Found 11th Sep 2017
So I've bought a house this year and I've decided I want a few fruit trees.. I've been reading about grafting on to root stock. And I think I'm wanting a few dwarf or semi dwarf trees.. could anyone suggest a cheap place/ website I could buy some from? I'm also very new to gardening so is it necessary to get trees that are grafted? Thanks
Community Updates
Ask
12 Comments
Aldi, Lidl, B&Q , Wilko, Homebase etc sell fruit trees. These are usually ready to go, patio trees. You can grow these either in a large patio tub or planted in the garden. Apple trees tend to be very resilient (how many apple trees do you see viewing at the side of the road, untended?).
These don't grow to big if you prune them. Consider a grape vine or two for any sunny wall. These can bear fruit, but are a wonderful wall of colour in late summer. Surprisingly easy to grow too.
Edited by: "mrty" 11th Sep 2017
The cheap apple and pear trees are okay but you should get good quality cherry trees from a nursery. I am about to dig out two cherry trees I got from Morrisons because after 8 years they are not fruiting. A friend has the same problem. Fruit trees are a long term investment so it pays to shop wisely if you want a decent crop.
Dwarf Bramley Apple and dwarf cherry are good small trees. There are dwarf eating apples as well, it is worth thinking about flavour when purchasing apple trees. A plum is a great tree to have in the garden. I think you need to think about what you like to eat or cook with so it is the most useful. There is no point in growing a fruit tree if you are not going to use the fruit, also consider which is more expensive in the shops so by growing it, it is best value. Cherries are so expensive in the shops so they are great value as long as you beat the birds to get them, I don't mind sharing mine and dwarf makes life a lot easier but yield may not be as high. Good luck