Gaming pc Red Devil rx480 fan not spinning. Turns off when game played. Help!

Posted 3rd Dec
Hi guys, Am I in the right place to ask for help? I’m a complete novice and out of touch with gaming PCs. My son has a b450 gaming plus mb with the above card fitted. Been working fine since March. Last week or so it turns on to desktop as normal as soon as game is started (even less demanding games like Lego) the system turns off completely. I have removed and replaced the GPU hoping I could reseat it. Gpu Fans don’t seam to be running they spin a little then stop. It cuts out before they spin. Am I on the right track? Cheers
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

16 Comments
Sound like video card failure, but I’ll advice monitor temperatures on idle and load to see exactly what’s going on.
Yeah thanks for reply I was heading down that route. I’ve tr to run a few tests but as stress is put on the graphics like short rendering videos it cuts off. I’ve managed to get it to last a little longer by manually running fans with afterburner. As I said I’m a novice so I’m nervous on changing settings and winging it
eric.vawerty03/12/2019 17:29

Sound like video card failure, but I’ll advice monitor temperatures on i …Sound like video card failure, but I’ll advice monitor temperatures on idle and load to see exactly what’s going on.

Edited by: "pjuk14" 3rd Dec
Much dust on the fans?
Also check custom fan profiles and temps.
m1keyp1key03/12/2019 17:45

Much dust on the fans?

m1keyp1key03/12/2019 17:48

Also check custom fan profiles and temps.

Minimal dust on fans I’ve manually set the fans running on afterburner at 75% it’s now working better, but not as it was. What should the fans and temps be? I’ve noticed that there’s been a few bios updates this year. Would that be worth a try or to risky?
A 480 should idle around 31, and max out at 80

What psu do you have?
Also we need to know what temp you're running at idle to see if something looks off from the start.
m1keyp1key03/12/2019 17:59