Expired

Glasgow bus lane charge

Found 19th Apr 2014
Just been served with a fine for "Being in a Bus Lane" on West George Street. The parking spaces are on the other side of the bus lane and so it must be crossed to get to it. Googling it shows other people have been charged in the same way and the response seems to be that they should have pulled up to where the space is without crossing the bus lane and then performed a parallel park across the 2 lanes. Now I think I'm a pretty decent driver but I don't think doing a reverse parallel park across 2 lanes, one of which has fast moving buses and taxis, is feasible. I drove into the bus lane 10 metres before the space so that I could pull up alongside it and parallel park.

I always abide by the rules and regulations of the road and do everything I can to be safe and sensible. I see no other way I could have parked in these spaces so I'm just feeling a bit annoyed that I'm now being fined for my actions.

I was just wondering if anyone else had fallen foul of the Glasgow bus lane cameras (especially W George Street) and if you appealed, were you successful?

Here is the section in question: https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@55.862462,-4.257617,3a,75y,123.66h,67.08t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sh2oJBH1lj9oj20Gx8sPsmg!2e0

1. Ask
  2. Glasgow
Groups
  1. Ask
  2. Glasgow
20 Comments

I haven't had a bus lane ticket but I did get a parking ticket near Hampden where the ticket was issued 15 minutes before the restrictions actually kicked in. I appealed and it was rejected but I took it all the way to the final appeal with the independent person who looks at all the evidence and was successful, I'm not sure how it works with bus lane charges but I imagine it's a similar system so don't panic if you appeal and its rejected.

Original Poster

sparky111091