Google pay and Amex pay

Posted 3rd Mar
I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to paying with your phone, having a Xiaomi note 5 (no NFC) for the last couple of years and Microsoft Lumia 950 before ( never managed to get contactless payments working).
I do most of my shopping at Aldi and Morrisons (17:20pm when they reduce down).

I've just configured Google pay on my new Xiaomi 9t but when I installed the Amex app it gave me the option to make it the default payment method for NFC.
I've looked at the terms on Amex about rewards via Google pay but they seem a bit contradictory.
Does anybody know if you get the rewards if you pay via Google pay?
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

10 Comments
This is from the Amex website FAQs:

Do I still get rewards (for example, Membership Rewards® points) when I use Google Pay?

Yes, you receive all of the same rewards, security and benefits of your eligible American Express Card when you use it with Google Pay. Please visit your Card account on americanexpress.com or in the Amex Mobile app to see your individual Card benefits.
If you make purchases outside of Google Pay with an eligible American Express Card in Google Payments or other Google properties (even if also branded by Google as Google Pay), some of those purchases may not receive the benefits (e.g., Purchase Protection), loyalty points, rewards or offers you may otherwise have received had you used that American Express Card directly with the merchant.
Edited by: "cis_groupie" 3rd Mar
Amex Pay was added when Google Pay couldn't support Amex initially. It is now redundant with Google Pay fully functional for Amex cards.
cis_groupie03/03/2020 22:11