Groups

Guitar experts

Hi Guitar players.

I'm a novice. I have a yamaha fs100 guitar.

I store it in a case. When I take it out to play, it always seems to be out of tune. I retune it, but after a few minutes of playing it goes out of tune again. I've changed the strings and it does the same thing. I use a Guitar Tuna app. When I look at the reading it never holds a straight line for long and can say it's too high after I first play the string and then says too low as the sound gets quieter.

I think it might be something to do with the temperature change from being in and out of the case.

Is this possible? Or is there something wrong with the guitar.

13 Comments

Hi my partner says the temperature change could make a lot of difference. best to leave it out of the case for a while then tune it first. he says there still could be a problem with the guitar, then get it looked at.he said it could be the way you are stringing the guitar and the strings are slipping. good luck.
    Edited by: "mysmugcat" 29th Jan

I was going to ask if you'd strung the guitar yourself or if those strings were on since you got it? Could definitely be that as mentioned above, temperature can certainly affect the strings too. Leave it out of the case as often as possible and see if it needs tuning as much.

Hi. Guitar tuna is very unreliable so that could be the main problem. Try using PitchLab Lite app. I use it all the time. Temperature change should only affect the tuning if you move the guitar from venue to venue, changes within the home are negligible.

Humidity will also affect it. It could be you've got cheap strings on it that won't hold tune. If you didn't fit them I'd replace the lot (one string at a time) & see what happens then

Original Poster

I've changed all the strings to diadora strings. I've also used thinner stings as they were sitting too high. Andy Guitar on you tube recommended this.

Have you changed the bridge or altered it at all?

Original Poster