Groups

Haggling in stores? Do you?

this is just for my own personal interest here.

the general public seem to have taken more of an interest in haggling since those as***les Martin Lewis and that second hand car salesman Dom littlewood, arrived on TV saying that us sales folk should be given a hard time, milked for discount and told if we don't match internet prices, we're all f**ked.

I never had a problem with Martin Lewis when he was a consumer rights guy on TV or the guy telling you how to save money by banking with the right people, but he seems to have turned into a slightly more well spoken version of Dodgy Dom.

So as a salesman myself, I'm treated to an every day concerto of
    "What discount can you do?"
    with a bit of
    "I can get it cheaper online will you price match"

who can forget the hit single
    "If I buy two can I have it cheaper?"

and then of course theres the all time favs
    "Theres a credit crunch on you know?"
    &
    "That Dom off the telly said I could get discount just by asking"

and the all time number one
    "Whats your best price for cash?"

So do you do it?
    try?
    if so, where and how do you approach the subject?

theres nothing more frustrating to me that someone pointing at a product and asking "Whats your best price on that, mate?"

I enjoy a bit of banter with customers but I quite often just want to walk away when people are rude and arrogant about getting some discount on a product.
    especially when its entry level tv, laptop etc etc.

So do you try to haggle?
    or do you do some research on sites like this and just go directly to the place you feel has the best deal?

Me personally I'd do my own research and buy it from the place that I feel has it at the best price with the best service, be that online or a store.