Groups
    EXPIRED

Has anyone ever voluntary terminated car finance?

If you buy a car on pcp or similar, you're legally allowed to hand it back once 50% of the total amount borrowed is paid. I'm doing this shortly and just wondered if anyone has done it before and how straight forward it was?

27 Comments

My brother did it a few years back albeit via a dealer as purchasing a second car. They went over it with a very fine tooth combe and charge for every tiny scratch, dint, scuff or change you have made from standard manufacture. I even think they charged if you had non original brand/model tyres. Just be careful as the bill can soon add up.
    Edited by: "P13ULC" 3rd Jan

I think you can do this on HP but not on a PCP. On a PCP you still borrow the full amount of the car so unless your final balloon payment is very small its unlikely you will have paid half the total loan off.
    Edited by: "ed2093" 3rd Jan

I haven't done this personally, but I work in the car finance industry. I assume by PCP you mean Hire Purchase or Conditional Sale Agreement? If this is the case, you can voluntarily terminate a Regulated Agreement under Section 99 of the Consumer Credit Act by writing to the finance company (their details will be on the Agreement you signed). This HAS to be done in writing (Section 189(1) of the Consumer Credit Act) and I would recommend sending it by Recorded Delivery so you have proof it was received. You should ensure any arrears are paid, and the vehicle is in a roadworthy condition and in a reasonable condition (allowing for "fair wear and tear") commensurate to its age and mileage, otherwise you may become liable to the finance company to pay for any damage to bring the vehicle to a "reasonable" condition. Your liability should be limited to the balance of half the total amount payable under the agreement, plus any arrears plus any damage costs. I would also recommend reading thoroughly the terms and conditions to ensure you have no other contractual