Groups

Hate new job, what do I do?

I need some advice guys, I have till Monday to make my mind up. Hello, I have been in a new job for 5 days, its not the job they explained at the interview, which I went for in September and they never got back to me till 2 weeks ago. I used to work in retail where I was busy, this job in 8 hours, people only work for around an hour and just stare at their screens for the rest of the time. This is making me sick, I'm not eating or sleeping. My old manager said if I wanted my old job back I just needed to get in touch with her. I really am mot coping behind a desk for 8.5 hours and new people have a go at me for getting up at least once an hour for a short walk. What should I do, I'm so unhappy.

38 Comments

If you are sure this job is not as you thought, and you liked your old job, go back to it. Don't stay in a job that makes you ill.

Seems simple, go back to your old job.
    You're miserable here and it's making you I'll, plus you're being offered your old job back with open arms.

leave. I doubt you will ever be happy at least at the moment you have a job to go back to. if you leave it too long you will only become more miserable and might not be so easy to get another job

people spend so much of their working lives at work. Its important that you at least dont HATE your job, but better if you like it.
    Take it from me, someone who stuck with a job with a bullying boss until it broke me.

It wont get better - just leave and feel the relief, and mark it up to experience.

I gave +1 to all who said go back to your old job, which was everyone. No reason to stay.