Groups

Have you ever been scammed by a seller on eBay?

I've been using eBay for about 5 years now and today I found out that for the first time I got scammed by this guy who was selling books. There were several other buyers who have been scammed too but thank god for PayPal and eBay's Money Back Guarantee.

Have you ever been scammed by an eBay seller?

16 Comments

Not yet

A few times. I bought various video games that were quite expensive for a cheaper price. I got all my money back but it took about 8weeks. Its like the seller was using ebay as a loan company!

Once buy a guy selling Makita power tools. about 10% cheaper than every other seller. He had over 100 feedback all positive. So I risked it and bought a multi tool and never saw it. Paypal refunded me.

I got sent a broken ps4 controller when buying a fully working refurbished one... and the bloke tried to claim I'd not returned the same one... he gassed and moaned that he'd refund as he "had" too then claim back via paypal but funnily enough I heard nothing...

A couple of times. Luckily eBay always side with buyer

Got cheated out of £375, went to buy mobile phone it then got message saying they posted it then message saying they can sell direct, if you pay direct, could have paid through normal buisness PayPal but paid through friends.
    So no cover also tracking they give you is false.
    BUYER BEWARE always.
    Also bought from other country got the Police involved but because under £1000 Euro Pol (old Interpol) cannot take action.
    Edited by: "gumper" 11th Apr

Not really, i have been on amazon though, i ordered a bed which was slightly cheaper than others, new seller so was bound to happen. A to Z guarantee got my money back in a few weeks.