Haven't been paid because of employers mistake.

Found 24th Jun 2011
Good morning all.

Here's my situation:
I work as a sales consultant in a gym.
I get paid my basic pay each month and commission on top of that depending on how many sales I get.

Last month I got paid my basic pay and that was it although I was due a LOT of commission. I got it sorted in the end and got the commission the next day (26th may). Then of the 2nd June I got that commission again which I only found out about on Tuesday.

My line manager received an email stating that Head Office had made a mistake and paid me twice my commission last month (26th may, 2nd June) so I checked my online bank statement and the had, and so will not be paying me this month. Although my payslip states that I will be paid but just my basic pay.

Tomorrow is pay day but becuase it's a Saturday, it should be today. Checked my bank, and I've not been paid.

Does this sound right to you guys? Should I have not been paid today because of HO's mistake?

Thanks for any help provided
Community Updates
50 Comments
Did the second lot of commission you got (2nd July) cover what you should of got paid this month - or are you short of what you should have been paid?
Original Poster
Ermm... I think it was roughly about the same. But its really not ideal for me. And at the end of the day, it's their cock-up. And if I had known about it prior to finding out, I would of notified HO.
You are entitled to your basic pay but not the commission if its already been paid
Original Poster
Yeah I agree. But I have not been paid a penny.
I would of much preferred if I received no commission for a couple months to make up for it or something like that.
Sloth/Mod
So effectively they paid you for this months pay a few weeks in advance.

So you have been paid just not at the right time. Nothing more you can ask of them as you got your wages. If you've already spent it then it's just going to be squeaky bum time for the next month.