Help, cant get a pre reg! :(

Posted 31st Dec 2019
So, I’m a third year university student studying Optometry. Im based in the North West and the demand for a pre reg after completing a degree is very high within my area. I don’t know what to do! Moving far out isn’t an option for me (personal circumstances) but i guess if i was given a pre reg without an interview somewhere far id grab that opportunity with both hands. Unfortunately I’ve never had a part time job either, keep getting rejected as they want past experience (can’t get none if I don’t get the opportunity to work!) I really don’t know what to do, I’m scared to finish my degree because I know I’ll be stuck. I’m trying to find a Pre Registration place for 2020 at any store (Boots, specsavers, vision express or independent stores). So if anyone could help me out I’d be ever so grateful. I’m going into 2020 feeling a bit lost 😣
Community Updates
Ask
Top comments
I thought for a moment that the thread was saying "Help, can't get Preg"!
Haircut_10031/12/2019 20:38

I thought for a moment that the thread was saying "Help, can't get Preg"! …I thought for a moment that the thread was saying "Help, can't get Preg"!

I thought they wanted to buy a car.
6 Comments
Not sure how asking on a deals site will help but.... when my son was looking for work (admittedly only fork lift work) we printed out some introductory letters along the lines of.. "Can you help? I'm 19 a years old, newly qualified, fork lift driver - and I'm looking for work." There's was more, but you get the idea.
We drove around various places, he walked in and handed them over in person. Within the hour he had two interviews arranged. A job offer at the first interview.
Maybe something like that would work for you, as it shows determination and application. Stand out from the crowd - for the right reason.
It is hard to get a job without having previous experience.