HELP choosing 5.1 surround sound speakers.

Found 20th Jan
So I want to purchase 5.1 surround sound speakers. Been a complete novice to this subject I could do with some help/advice in choosing speakers.

So the AV I will probably be purchasing is a Denon AVR-X1400H.

Budget for speakers is £400.

Speakers need to be very compact, due to location availability and the missus X)

Ideally in white.

So far I've seen these.

2880695.jpg
audiovisualonline.co.uk/product/45452/mission-m3-m-cube-white-5-1-satellite-speaker-package&utm_source=Froogle&utm_campaign=Froogle&utm_content=MIS-M3-SYS-WHT?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI08ea5_Lk2AIVaL7tCh0BGQJwEAQYCCABEgJRx_D_BwE

2880695.jpg
hifi-tower.co.uk/NUMAN-Ambience-5-1-Surround-Sound-System-White-Incl-30m-Speaker-Cable_i37455.htm

I did look at the Cambridge Audio Minx min12 package but is too far over my budget at £500.

Comments or recommendations appreciated.

Thank you.
Community Updates
Ask
8 Comments
I would throw the lion share in on the subwoofer and buy 2nd hand speakers. I'm picking up a pair of 2nd hand q acoustics 1030i floor standing speakers for £45 which would be fine as front speakers in most setups. I wouldn't buy a package but pick up some decent speakers at a good discount.
kester7655 m ago

I would throw the lion share in on the subwoofer and buy 2nd hand …I would throw the lion share in on the subwoofer and buy 2nd hand speakers. I'm picking up a pair of 2nd hand q acoustics 1030i floor standing speakers for £45 which would be fine as front speakers in most setups. I wouldn't buy a package but pick up some decent speakers at a good discount.

So the ops requirements are ‘very compact’ but you recommend floor standers?
Edited by: "paulj48" 20th Jan
paulj489 h, 44 m ago

So the ops requirements are ‘very compact’ but you recommend floor sta …So the ops requirements are ‘very compact’ but you recommend floor standers?