Help. How to recover documents after deleted?

Found 26th Feb 2009
My daughter has accidentally deleted all the documents on her laptop, including two projects she needs for school tomorrow. Why I have no idea, but something to do with a shortcut on her screen that she didnt think she needed. Kids??

Have checked the recycle bin and the documents are not there. And I cannot find them anywhere. They show in recent history of Powerpoint but when you click them it says file not found.

Does anybody have any suggestions where I can look?

Thanks

  1. Misc
Groups
  1. Misc
15 Comments

does she have vista ??

Original Poster

tonyg1962;4501154

does she have vista ??



Yes.

Original Poster

DAMNOME;4501140

http://www.officerecovery.com/freeundelete/



Thanks, looks like I will need a USB mem stick, will try to borrow one.

If you have a C: drive and D: drive download it to the drive that doesn't hold the powerpoint files...
eg if your 'my documents' file is in you 'D' Drive - download it to your 'C' drive and you will be fine

Original Poster

DAMNOME;4501293

If you have a C: drive and D: drive download it to the drive that doesn't … If you have a C: drive and D: drive download it to the drive that doesn't hold the powerpoint files...eg if your 'my documents' file is in you 'D' Drive - download it to your 'C' drive and you will be fine



Its only got one drive :-(

This software can recover the files for you. It has a free trial which may be all you need for the work you need to retrieve.

download3000.com/dow…tml

Use a program called 'Recuva' it's awesome and its freeware not just free trial.

recuva.com/

My recommendation for a free data recovery utility is this one:

pcinspector.de/Sit…e=1

My brother accidentally deleted a large number of files (ctrl+a plus a shift+del that went horribly wrong) and it managed to get most of them back. Crucially you have to shutdown the laptop now if you haven't already, when you delete data it isn't actually wiped from the drive - instead it's set as being free space which means until the data is overwritten, it's still there. However it does meant that the longer the laptop is running, the higher the risk you run of overwriting the deleted files - all it needs is one portion of the file to be overwritten and it may be non-recoverable.

John

Original Poster

Thanks for all y our help. Am gonna download a couple of the prgrams suggested to main desktop and see if I can use a USB tomorrow am to transfer them onto her HD without overwriting her files.

Am so gonna kill her for this

Original Poster

Update. Tried above programs and still no sign, is it possible that the HD is damaged or is this just another Vista anomaly?

go to ubcd4win.com/con…htm and look at the programs under File Recovery ...try the ones that have not been mentioned... they are all freeware and they are all excellent. .. You know in Recuva you must try a Deep Search it takes ages but well worth it also scan the whole drive not just specific folders in drives... hope this helps.

Original Poster

Xiwt;4504730

go to http://www.ubcd4win.com/contents.htm and look at the programs under … go to http://www.ubcd4win.com/contents.htm and look at the programs under File Recovery ...try the ones that have not been mentioned... they are all freeware and they are all excellent. .. You know in Recuva you must try a Deep Search it takes ages but well worth it also scan the whole drive not just specific folders in drives... hope this helps.



Hi I ran Recuva over night, sat up till 1.30 with it then left it while I grabbed a couple of hours sleep.
Contacted Dell earlier as I was concerned the laptop may be damaged but they say that if shift was pressed while she pressed delete that the files are permanently gone!

She has spent all day trying to redo the work. Hopefully she has learnt to be very careful before pressing delete on anything.

Once again thanks for all your help.

Ah thats a shame... I guess pressing shift+delete must overwrite the file with zeros or something then. Sorry it didn't work but yes the lesson to learn is try and save important stuff on at least two different drives (failure does and can always occur)...and that way if you do hit delete, you always have the BACKUP!

Xiwt;4508116

Ah thats a shame... I guess pressing shift+delete must overwrite the file … Ah thats a shame... I guess pressing shift+delete must overwrite the file with zeros or something then. Sorry it didn't work but yes the lesson to learn is try and save important stuff on at least two different drives (failure does and can always occur)...and that way if you do hit delete, you always have the BACKUP!



Actually shift delete just skips the moving file to recycle bin part. When you delete stuff, the space it previously took up is "marked" as empty. It remains "empty" until something comes along and replaces it. If you use data recovery software, it is important to run it as soon as possible.
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text
    Top Discussions
    1. Topcashback Trick or Treat competition63691
    2. Win an unbelievable Windows Mixed Reality prize pack from Windows Central! …22
    3. Win two star gazing festival tickets in the north pennines43
    4. Win a £100 Amazon Voucher From LoveMyVouchers44

    See more discussions