HELP Please: Glass or acrylic for staircase

Found 18th Dec 2012
Can anyone please advise on whether glass or acrylic is better for putting panels into staircase balustrading? also any companies that are good prices for cutting such glass. Thanks in advance
Community Updates
Misc
21 Comments
Banned
Too posh for HUKD
Edited by: "DLM" 18th Dec 2012
BUT. Acrylic can be scratched easier than glass and acrylic is flammable and shouldn't be used if the staircase is the only means of escape in a fire.
DLM

Too posh for HUKD

I have 3 sets of glass stair cases in my house A glass balcony and glass panels around my basement. This can mean one of two things. I am either extremely wealthy, or extremely in debt and ready to burst

top glass in Northern Ireland done ours, you could have a a look on their website. I am sure glass etc, in fact anything in the building trade can be done cheap today. I have no experience of acrylic but if it looked good and was for example much cheaper, then it wouldn't put me off. Best having a good look at both
Banned
sparkyIreland

I have 3 sets of glass stair cases in my house A glass balcony and … I have 3 sets of glass stair cases in my house A glass balcony and glass panels around my basement. This can mean one of two things. I am either extremely wealthy, or extremely in debt and ready to burst :(top glass in Northern Ireland done ours, you could have a a look on their website. I am sure glass etc, in fact anything in the building trade can be done cheap today. I have no experience of acrylic but if it looked good and was for example much cheaper, then it wouldn't put me off. Best having a good look at both

I hate you
DLM

I hate you

For being in extreme debt and ready to burst, that's a bit harsh
Banned
sparkyIreland

For being in extreme debt and ready to burst, that's a bit harsh

For owning a glass staircase lol.

Merry Christmas
This is a great company for acrylic, Sheet Plastics