Help with alienware upgrade

Found 14th Nov 2017
Hi everyone. I am looking to buy a alienware laptop this black Friday.
Just wanted to ask how easy it is to upgrade yourself.
The 8 to 16gb ram upgrade seems expensive (£120)
It also seems quite expensive to add a ssd.. Can I just put one in myself.
I read that I should just clone the hard drive when I get it onto a ssd and stick that in and use the 1tb 7200rpm hdd as storage?
I also read that dell use their own specific parts / ram so you can't use another brand or be able compatible. I'm a bit noob at this.
Community Updates
Ask
7 Comments
when you upgrade to 16GB they don't stick another 8GB in, they put a single 16GB in so the £120 is likely the full cost of the new part

yeah you can put one yourself

and it's true with all computers that you shouldn't really mix ram - diff speeds is a 100% no, but even same speed mixed pairs is discouraged - so you can't just stick another 8GB in, you'd have to match the current 8GB or buy new 16 or a pair or 2 8's
murtgurge17 m ago

when you upgrade to 16GB they don't stick another 8GB in, they put a …when you upgrade to 16GB they don't stick another 8GB in, they put a single 16GB in so the £120 is likely the full cost of the new partyeah you can put one yourselfand it's true with all computers that you shouldn't really mix ram - diff speeds is a 100% no, but even same speed mixed pairs is discouraged - so you can't just stick another 8GB in, you'd have to match the current 8GB or buy new 16 or a pair or 2 8's

That 120 price is for 2 X 8gb (that's what it says on the upgrade menu) .
I guess I could survive without the extra 8
I'm only really going to play games but want to make it as future proof as possible.
There should be a slot for a m.2 right?
dasachmo6 m ago