HGV Class 2 Driver

Posted 17th May
Hey HGV Experts/ et al, please can I pick your brain. Sorry if I sound dumb, but does anyone know any company (even agency) that can hire a new HGV 2 driver? I passed my test just in March 2020 and I’m really struggling to get a job. I live in SE London. Would you suggest I do the Class 1 or PCV? Anything to improve my chances of getting a job. I’m not really sure anymore TBH after spending thousands to get the license! Any thought will be highly appreciated. Thank you for your time.
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

13 Comments
I work as a trainer for sainsburys we currently are recruiting for our online business but currently only taking on drivers with previous larger vehicle experience. May be a good opportunity whilst the world sorts itself out. Several suitable stores in SE london and could be with a quick start date etc.
Try an agency, that’s what I did 20 years ago.
Just when you go to drive for someone don’t say you have just passed.
I took my class 1 afterwards and got work next day.
I passed my test in a ford flat bed with trailer.
Then drove and articulated lorry next day.
Was fun as had never driven one.
JamieBeveridge17/05/2020 19:32

I work as a trainer for sainsburys we currently are recruiting for our …I work as a trainer for sainsburys we currently are recruiting for our online business but currently only taking on drivers with previous larger vehicle experience. May be a good opportunity whilst the world sorts itself out. Several suitable stores in SE london and could be with a quick start date etc.

Do I stand a chance? Any link to the Sainsbury’s vacancies site. Just to give it a shot! Or any help from yourself will be appreciated.
An.dy17/05/2020 19:46

Do I stand a chance? Any link to the Sainsbury’s vacancies site. Just to g …Do I stand a chance? Any link to the Sainsbury’s vacancies site. Just to give it a shot! Or any help from yourself will be appreciated.