Unfortunately, this discussion is no longer valid
Expired

House flooded

Posted 11th Nov
has anyone else here ever been stupid enough to leave an upstairs tap running?
yes, that was me last night.
found it about 2 hours later by which time it had run through the floor and down the downstairs walls, under the paint which blistered & bubbled
I have no knowledge of whether plaster board can be dried out or not? and am currently awaiting my insurance company phoning back re sending a surveyor round.
Help!
has anyone ever had any experience of this? did it all gets covered by the house insurance? how long did it take to repair? etc
Community Updates
Ask
13 Comments
There isn't an overflow hole ?
Ooooh, I feel for you, PP. A very stressful situation. I had the immersion tank spring a leak. Took out the landing and part of the living room ceiling. I had to have the services of "Rainbow International" and their electric dehumidifiers running all day long for a week. It did pull a hell of a lot of moisture out though.

All covered by insurance (apart from the replacement tank) - new carpets and decorator for living room. My situation turned into a nightmare that took over 3 months to sort. Getting the carpets sorted took a long, long time as the carpet company made MANY mistakes.

I hope you can get it all sorted. Just don't fret as it should all be covered if you had adequate insurance. I even got an 'allowance' payment for the electricity that the dehumidifiers used!

All the very best, Phsy.