Groups

how do I play avi's on my ps2?

my ps2 isnt modded, but I know it can be done as I have seen replies on threads about it on other forums when iv googled, about having some kind of software on whatever u are running the avi off. the instructions they give to people is confusing me thow, I dont understand what they mean, or the replies are just confusing and im just getting myself into a muddle im not very tech savvy or anything, and these threads are many years old so theres no use replying to any of them. would anyone here mind helping me please.

16 Comments

It will need to be softmodded with avi codecs

Original Poster

jonny619447

It will need to be softmodded with avi codecs

i have no idea what that means really, but on other forums it does say that the ps2 doesnt need to be modded, you have to have a certain software on the flash drive/hard drive or disc, however, i dont understand the instructions from there

tatemze

i have no idea what that means really, but on other forums it does say … i have no idea what that means really, but on other forums it does say that the ps2 doesnt need to be modded, you have to have a certain software on the flash drive/hard drive or disc, however, i dont understand the instructions from there

A soft mod, just means there is no hardware involved. you just need to add the codecs to the onboard memory

Original Poster

jonny619447

A soft mod, just means there is no hardware involved. you just need to … A soft mod, just means there is no hardware involved. you just need to add the codecs to the onboard memory

ahhh, i hear the word mod and think of rewiring or adding hardware etc
    do u know what 'codecs' i use, there seems to be a few programs mentioned, but wouldnt know which to try, the one called sms has mixed reviews, some say it makes avis freeze, or lag

It may be easier just to convert your avi files to dvd format, done a little research and standard dvd's read "DVD-Video's MPEG-2"