How may tries did it take to pass your driving test ?

Found 24th MarEdited by:"aw08"
just interested how many tries is to many ??
Community Updates
Ask
34 Comments
I think it took me about twenty minutes of driving around town and then about five minutes of questions about the highway code, but this was an awful long time ago!
50 minute drive which involved a 3 point turn on some random car.
I had about 12 lessons, failed first time and passed second. All the best drivers pass on second try.
Passed 2nd time... apparently those that do make the better drivers... more so than your gender
1 and a half year later I passed on my 4th
4 in the house, all 1st time. One of the 4 did have 15 months worth of lessons!
I had about 100 lessons and passed my 4th time! I just used to get so nervous getting in that learner car. But now I think I’m a safe driver and even more so now that I have kids!
Second time should of passed first time though.
Around 15 lessons and passed 1st time with 2 minors. One on 3 point turn for taking more than the usual attempts (but didn’t want to hit the kerb so) and the other was for observation when pulling off from a stop
Passed 4th time.
I see some folks on the road and wonder how they passed. The saying getting licence on back of a cereal packet springs to mind.

22 years later, still clean licence, and no accidents.

I did have a really good instructor, he taught me to drive defensively etc. Not just to pass the test.
I do think if you have kids or have experienced someone young dying. It really changes your attitude to driving. You are extra careful because you don't want anyone to experience what you have gone through and you want to protect as much as possible.
Passed after the 3rd attempt in Italy, though. Lessons and everything were paid by my aunt as a birthday present.

Failed only because the guys examining me were obsessed with correct parking.

Had trouble aligning the car perfectly and didn't pass only because of that