Expired

How much do you pay for your car insurance?

Found 13th Mar 2012
I'm a new driver and just looking into car insurances.
My cheapest is 3600 for a year with a 250 voluntary excess,

or 1400 a year with a compulsory of £3,000

Should I go for the cheaper one?
So in case somebody hits me and its his fault I would still have to pay 3000?

Would like to hear your prices, how much is your voluntary?

Thanks for your help!
Community Updates
32 Comments
£400 BMW 318 no voluntary. I am 29 though.

It's worth shopping around money supermarket and other search sites the best you can. Make sure each are comparable too, ie offer the same extras like legal cover. It's not easy at your age unfortunately.
my boy went with co op young drivers insurance his was just over 2000, 500 compulsary but he had the little black fitted
You would only pay the £3000 if your insurance company has to pay up. Either to you or third party.
Could you afford to pay 3k if you crashed the day after you took the insurance? If no stay clear or you will be stuffed trying to get that money.
I'm 22 and my insurance on a 1.4 polo is £700 with 250 excess with elephant
Mine was £180 after quidco. Focus cmax fully comp
Op, what is the car you are trying to insure? As it may be better to get a low insurance group one for a couple of years.
I'm 25 and in my first year of driving. On a 1.2 Corsa my insurance was £2400.... Grim
£750 BMW M5. Excess would have been £500 but took out an insurance policy for £40 which will pay the excess if I need to claim.
£450 with £100 excess, fully comp + business
ifrazalam

You would only pay the £3000 if your insurance company has to pay up. … You would only pay the £3000 if your insurance company has to pay up. Either to you or third party.

So I don't have to pay it if its not my fault? Is this correct?
oddballjamie