Groups

How to either add a sata hard drive or easily get info off it

My original post is here hotukdeals.com/ite…fro?

I have since found out my old HD is a 3.5" sata HD and I have bought the Dell Vostro 430 and it was suggested I would be able to either add the old drive as a 2nd drive or as I just want to get some of the info off just open the vostro up and attach the old drive to get the files off. What's the easiest way remembering I am a complete novice and need an idiots step by step guide.

Thanks all.

6 Comments

If you want to add the drive to your new pc you will just need a SATA datacable and fit it inside your pc ( you should already have a spare power cable inside your pc)
    If all you want to do is get the data from your HDD then you could just unplug the SATA cable from your DVD drive and use that whilst you get the data off your old HDD,just make sure you do all the plugging and unplugging while the machine is turned off,

the red one is the data cable
    http://gallery.techarena.in/data/513/sata-ide_lg.jpg

Original Poster

tonyg1962;8108600

If you want to add the drive to your new pc you will just need a SATA … If you want to add the drive to your new pc you will just need a SATA datacable and fit it inside your pc ( you should already have a spare power cable inside your pc)If all you want to do is get the data from your HDD then you could just unplug the SATA cable from your DVD drive and use that whilst you get the data off your old HDD,just make sure you do all the plugging and unplugging while the machine is turned off,the red one is the data cable

Hey, thanks for the quick reply! So, I just unplug that red cable from the dvd drive, plug it into the old drive? Then I plug in the power cable to the HD - what does that look like? Sorry - probably a really stupid question.

mpesm;8108630