How to save on ebay fees for private seller?

Posted 13th JanEdited by:"ab713"
Hi,

I am very new to selling stuff online. I placed my first advert to sell and I found a buyer who is interested to buy it.

Looks like ebay charges flat 10% fees and if the buyer pays by paypal, it charges additional 2.5%.

Anyone who is experienced over here know any tips to save on fees?

Will it be appropriate to ask the buyer if he would like to pay directly via paypal instead of ebay? On paypal there are two option: 1. Pay to friends and family 2. Pay for products and services.

With option 2 both the buyer and seller gets protection...can i simply ask the buyer to use option 2 of paypal? Anyone knows whats the fees if I use option 2 of paypal?
Community Updates
Ask
22 Comments
the buyer will always pay via ebay for protection,even more so by the fact you are a new seller,your best selling when they have their £1 max selling fees promotion.
Your best bet to save on fee is wait to list things on a £1 listing weekend, where, as long as your item sells within 30 days all you pay is £1.

That is the only real way to save money. Messing about with PayPal and circumventing protections etc only causes you more grief down the road.

Failing that, sell on gumtree, cash only and pay no fees at all.
As mentioned above the £1 fee promotions are your best bet to stay above board, asking potential buyers on eBay to pay directly to PayPal is against eBay terms, if they see you doing this you will get a number of warnings until account suspension.

You could use alternative services such as gumtree or Shpock where there is no fees on sales, as it works more like classifieds.
Every other week there is a £1 max fee for selling.
jamstaruk197213/01/2020 23:53

the buyer will always pay via ebay for protection,even more so by the fact …the buyer will always pay via ebay for protection,even more so by the fact you are a new seller,your best selling when they have their £1 max selling fees promotion.