Huge supermarket queues today (Thursday)

Posted 9th Apr
All the supermarkets near me have very long queues today.

Am I missing something ? They are open during the bank holiday weekend.

There have been short queues during the week but today it's crazy.
Community Updates
Misc

Groups

Top comments
When I worked in retail Thursday before Good Friday is THE busiest day of the year. It whooped Christmas
33 Comments
Maybe people anticipating them being busy over the bank holiday and wanting to get in before.
Usually without a virus supermarkets are busy before Easter
Saw a line at Tesco today that was just mental. Saw this coming and did the shopping yesterday
They’ve always been long here, but seem to be getting worse. I went to Waitrose last week and the queue was several lines long, whereas the week before it was only one line.
When I worked in retail Thursday before Good Friday is THE busiest day of the year. It whooped Christmas
Before yesterday the que was half the size max of Wednesdays. Even had a day with no qué. But yesterday was the longest I'd ever seen, twice as long, going half a mile Into the car park and back again.
Yep you spend more time in queue than in the supermarket!
Going to have to risk it tomorrow, only chance with no little one with me. Guess it's not going to matter what time I go in
Whoohoo09/04/2020 16:56

Going to have to risk it tomorrow, only chance with no little one with me. …Going to have to risk it tomorrow, only chance with no little one with me. Guess it's not going to matter what time I go in

I went shopping today for groceries thought I'd be home at 2.4 o'clock I was finally home!
It's about the same where I am just people are standing further away from each other now. Last week most were maybe 2m apart but now it's more like 5m.