I am after some electrical advice

Found 28th Nov 2017
I am a complete novice when it comes to electrics which is why I do not touch them when doing any kind of DIY work but I am trying to install some LED light strips at home and don't have the means of linking them up to the main wiring in the home so I have to plug them in.

They will be running under the my kitchen units which means that all cabling will be hidden under the units but it is how I connect them up in that is the problem as there is only one socket and I have 3 LED strips to plug in so this is my plan.

The one socket behind the units is where the hob is connected. It is a gas hob with the only electric being required for the spark (I assume) so I am assuming that draws down very little and only when actually being used.

So my plan was this - to add a this to the main socket - amazon.co.uk/pro…G19

Then I will plug the hob into one of the sockets.

Into one of the remaining sockets I wanted to add a smart wifi plug and then into that an extension cable where I would then plug in the remaining three LED strips - they have an input voltage of 12v DC and a Power of 2A 24w each.

My plan is to put the LED lighting (via the extension cable) on a timer so it is in only on when we are in the house which means that the hob and the LED lighting will be off for the majority of the day.

Is there anyone on here who can provide me with some assistance regarding whether I would overload the main socket?

Thanks
Community Updates
Ask
8 Comments
No problem with what you are proposing.

Socket will be on the ring main or a spur and is rated for 13A - so P=VI = 230x13 = 2990W

Cooker demand for perhaps a clock and igniter will be neglible, but as will be rated as 3A assume, P=230x3 = 690W

So you have a remaining capacity of 2300W to power your LEDs......

LED lighting - assume you fit the full 5m on each length, (2x24) =72W

So in summary no problem at all - very little power demand on the socket.