Groups

    If I reset my ps3 data...?

    Will I lose all my stuff from it e.g my accounts, trophys, save files, the games I got from gamesharing etc. I have recently got a problem in my psn account and someone suggested that I should reset my ps3 data.

    8 Comments

    Hi,yes you do lose everything,it wipes it all clean.I did it to mine once to try and sort a problem.I backed my saves to a memory stick,it had problems reading the memory stick afterwards though,and I lost soem of my save games.Anything you buy from the store you can download again for free

    Banned

    you dont lose trophies as there are stored online

    just back up game save data and accounts

    use a flash drive or something to backup your save file
    then reset it

    Original Poster

    But last time I tried putting the save file back it didn't let me. That was for ps home btw. Will reseting it activate my account if already done on 5 others systems?

    Banned

    JaYy_dOg;7063582

    But last time I tried putting the save file back it didn't let me. That … But last time I tried putting the save file back it didn't let me. That was for ps home btw. Will reseting it activate my account if already done on 5 others systems?


    resetting it will just set it back to factory default

    have you been installing psn games on multiple ps3s to share and have now been blocked by Sony?

    Original Poster

    csiman;7063590

    resetting it will just set it back to factory defaulthave you been … resetting it will just set it back to factory defaulthave you been installing psn games on multiple ps3s to share and have now been blocked by Sony?



    I game shared with people, i give my account and the have thiers and download games/packs etc. And ive done this 5 times and now im not able to Activate my account as they have been activated in 5 other ps3 systems.

    Banned

    JaYy_dOg;7068226

    I game shared with people, i give my account and the have thiers and … I game shared with people, i give my account and the have thiers and download games/packs etc. And ive done this 5 times and now im not able to Activate my account as they have been activated in 5 other ps3 systems.


    Sony has blocked your PSN online access completely then as its against their copyright terms to game share.

    A reset wont help matters. Your only choice I believe is to set up a new PSN account and face the fact you will have to buy the games again and lose all your game save data, trophies etc

    Even then, Sony may have actually blocked your PS3 from online access, and tbh, I cant say I blame them!

    Wasnt it obvious that they would notice that you were multi-installing your PSN games across PS3s?

    You could get one of your mates to remove their copies of your games from their PS3s. Note that deleting a profile via the XMB from a PS3 doesnt automatically deactivate it under the PSN account associated to that profile. It has to be "manually" deactivated from the account management page in order to free one of those 5 activations. So if a friend of yours is using your PSN account and decides to dispose of his PS3 system, tell him to do the deactivation thing (log in as you > Account Management > Activate System > PlayStation 3 (this system) > Deactivate system), otherwise you'll lose one of your possible activations. Simply deleting the profile associated with your PSN account or formatting the HDD is not enough.
    Post a comment
    Avatar
    @
      Text
      Top Discussions
      1. Surprise! The HUKD Summer Flamedeer Hunt 2017 **OFFICIAL THREAD** (trading …4562136
      2. Jeremy Corbyn #traingate1519
      3. Veteran TV presenter doesn't die but gets damages from the Police - is that…1011
      4. O2 priority £1 lunch to end for good77

      See more discussions