Groups

inheritance (estranged father)

Hi guys, does anyone know anything about inheritance from estranged parents. My OH father died 16 years ago. His father and mother divorced 6 years prior to that and his father re married and had two children from that marriage. After the divorce the new wife didn't allow my OH and siblings to visit and caused trouble each time they tried so after a while they became estranged. As far as my OH knows there was not a will in place but his father had numerous properties. My question is would my OH and his siblings have a right to a share in his assets and if so where would we start. (Total novice)

16 Comments

Banned

Without a will it all passed to his new wife & then from there to whoever she wants in her will.

Else you have to go to court & prove he wanted your partner to benefit.
    Edited by: "YouDontWantToKnow" 18th Aug 2016

YouDontWantToKnow

Without a will it all passed to his new wife & then from there to whoever … Without a will it all passed to his new wife & then from there to whoever she wants in her will.Else you have to go to court & prove he wanted your partner to benefit.

Only the first 250K (more in Scotland) apparently.

See link here.
    Edited by: "SUMMONER" 18th Aug 2016

Agree with YouDontWantToKnow unfortunately. Any will that existed before the second marriage would have been invalidated by the marriage. If no will, everything passes to the legal spouse.

Banned

SUMMONER

Only the first 250K apparently.See link here.

Excellent find.

Original Poster

blueberry27

Agree with YouDontWantToKnow unfortunately. Any will that existed before … Agree with YouDontWantToKnow unfortunately. Any will that existed before the second marriage would have been invalidated by the marriage. If no will, everything passes to the legal spouse.

YouDontWantToKnow