Insuring my car insurance excess

Found 1st May
I'm a student so quite tight on money.

Basically, I'm thinking of getting my first car and then choosing the highest voluntary excess possible (about £1k) so that my premium is as low as possible.

Then I'm going to insure the total excess of £1k for about £60/yr.

That works out a lot cheaper for me but is there something I'm missing...if not, I'm going to choose the highest voluntary excess possible.

EDIT: bestpricefs.co.uk/car…nce
this is the website i was looking at guys
Community Updates
11 Comments
How do you insure the total excess for £60 a year, im pretty sure it wont be covered by companies. If it does work however why isnt everyone doing this?
master1016 m ago

How do you insure the total excess for £60 a year, im pretty sure it wont …How do you insure the total excess for £60 a year, im pretty sure it wont be covered by companies. If it does work however why isnt everyone doing this?

it's already there, although the cost is technically hidden and certainly not fixed at £60. The less voluntary excess the proposer accepts, the higher the premium.
Annual excess insurance for hire vehicles starts at around total £40, but not sure there is an equivalent for owner excess insurance. Example for hire vehicles: reducemyexcess.co.uk/
Play around with the voluntary excess.
Normally you hit an amount where the cost doesn't go down or even starts to increase so jumping to the max isn't always best.

It's also worth paying annually vs monthly as they add a 10-15% premium for monthly payment. If you don't have the cash upfront see if you can get a 0% interest credit card then pay it back monthly.
Edited by: "joedastudd" 1st May
I played around with the voluntary access when i got my insurance. It was the same quote if i have £50 acesss or £500 access.

Higher the access doesnt mean cheaper insurance.