Groups
    EXPIRED

Ipad Mini original vs mini 2

Why get a 2 over the original?

I am an engineer but I seriously think for the £60 difference for what I PERSONALLY use for it won't matter.

A5 vs A7 64bitM7
    IPS 1025 x 768 vs Retina 2048 x 1538

These are the main (and fairly big) differences. I know I will be able to tell the screen 24-7 and can get over that but the processor for my usage I think I don't hammer it enough.

Can someone give a truthful assist (from experience) where I would notice the difference. I don't mind the £60 extra if really is a good idea.

My final thought is that it is a generation behind therefore i will be that generation earlier where i won't be able to ypgrade eventually.

It is to be a keeper so think it may be worth the extra purely on the IOS upgradability basis.

9 Comments

Does matter because latest version of ios needs a faster processor, plus the retina screen does look good on ipad mini

For 60 quid its a no brainer

Original Poster

Thanks.

Happy with the screen have spent time comparing, yes it isn't as good can live with that but will i honestly be noticing the processor/iOS issue if i'm not a hard user (i have a mac, macbook air, ipad and iphone, ipad is older gen (4th) and I'm still quite happy atm for my usage.

I think it is now just the fact of protecting my investment so it can get the newer OS for longer.

This is consuming my mind!

Might just go the whole £100 and go mini 2 with 32gb lol.

Mini 2 is MUCH better.

Yeah have to agree mini 2 will be supported by apple for a lot longer. spend a little more get a lot longer out of it

Banned

Mini 2 will get iOS 10, Mini 1 won't get past iOS 8.3.1 (ish)

Original Poster

Cool, that was my final thinking on the subject so think it'll be the mini 2 32GB :-)

I have first gen iPad and it still does the job for me...You never catch with technology these days.

Banned

Rimi