Groups

iPhone - some basic questions

Hi,

I am a little new to electronic gadgets so was looking for some clarifications / advices to some fairly basic questions I had... Want to gift an IPHONE for my brother in India but latest models come 6-9 months later and also cost usually 20-30% more there...so just wanted to check some basics
    a) Can I buy just the IPHONE here in UK without it being SIM tied to either orange, o2 or other service providers?
    b) will an IPHONE bought in UK work in India?
    c) Lastly, like an IPOD where there are diff sizes and types (classic touch etc), are there diff sub models in the IPHONE?
    d) If yes, are there any sites where can I do price comparison for all these models?

I'm sure all these Qs might seem very elementary to a lot of you here but any help would be appreciated... thanks in advance..

4 Comments

a) Yes you can buy sim free but it will cost alot.
    b) Yes you can unlock it it should be able to work.
    c) Yes it comes as 3G - 8gb, 3GS - 16gb & 32gb
    d) Yes there are various price comparison sites google is your friend.

Original Poster

exStudent;7713319

a) Yes you can buy sim free but it will cost alot.b) Yes you can unlock … a) Yes you can buy sim free but it will cost alot.b) Yes you can unlock it it should be able to work.c) Yes it comes as 3G - 8gb, 3GS - 16gb & 32gbd) Yes there are various price comparison sites google is your friend.

Thanks for all your responses... I assume 'unlocking' is legal/above board....

jupe17;7713339

Thanks for all your responses... I assume 'unlocking' is legal/above … Thanks for all your responses... I assume 'unlocking' is legal/above board....