Is it worth upgrading my headset for gaming?

Posted 31st May 2020
Hi all.

I mainly game on Console and a little on PC.

I've been using the Turtle Beach XO Three headset for around 2-3 years now. It's still going strong to be fair.

is it worth upgrading these to a better headset? like the... HyperX Cloud 2, for example? or just stick with what I've got until it eventually dies?
Community Updates
Ask
15 Comments
If you are only plugging a jack into a PS4/Xbox I wouldn’t bother. You are not getting anything other than standard stereo sound anyways.
Dannyrobbo31/05/2020 20:00

If you are only plugging a jack into a PS4/Xbox I wouldn’t bother. You a …If you are only plugging a jack into a PS4/Xbox I wouldn’t bother. You are not getting anything other than standard stereo sound anyways.

I see, I've been reading people hearing footsteps etc better in games with better headsets though (even on console) is that not the case?
CaptainZero31/05/2020 20:00

I see, I've been reading people hearing footsteps etc better in games with …I see, I've been reading people hearing footsteps etc better in games with better headsets though (even on console) is that not the case?

I mean the drivers might be better etc but you are still only getting the same data through both sets. Don’t be swayed by the marketing for virtual 7.1 because you won’t get that through the jack.
Probably best to wait til end of the year with the new consoles coming out, I’m sure they’ll have enhanced gaming headsets with Bluetooth & upgraded sound
If you want to sound whore I recommend these. Astro A50s Its what I have used for years.
_Whatever_31/05/2020 20:09

If you want to sound whore I recommend these. Astro A50s Its what I have …If you want to sound whore I recommend these. Astro A50s Its what I have used for years.

Jesus my One X was cheaper
CaptainZero31/05/2020 20:10

Jesus my One X was cheaper

Used to play competitively and over the years can definitely tell you, you pay for what you get.