Are these HP /Honor laptops any good? And what’s best i5 or ryzen 5 processor

Posted 23rd Aug
Haven’t got a clue about laptops but want a decent little good looking lightweight laptop for my uni work.
Is this any good please?
Like this HP but also like the Honor MagicBook and it’s now £449 at John Lewis.
Which is best please?

johnlewis.com/hon…097

store.hp.com/UKStore/Merch/Product.aspx?id=8KU32EA&opt=ABU&sel=NTB
Community Updates
Ask
6 Comments
I have a Ryzen 5 in my new Acer and I'm delighted with how it's ran so far. I'm a college lecturer so needed to upgrade for remote working to use recording software to create videos etc. I'm pleased with it.
The performance difference between the processors is negligible (although if you want to game a little, the iGPU on the Ryzen is better than the Intel graphics). It's like 10% difference in benchmarks cpubenchmark.net/com…558

I have the Huawei Matebook D 14 (which is pretty much identical to the Magicbook except outside apperance) and it works great, the size and weight is perfect. It handles everything I use it for fine, some music production, photoshop, lightroom, some light gaming (Civ VI).

One advantage of the Magicbook over the HP is it charges via USB-C, so you get a compact 65W fast charger in the box, don't have to haul around hefty power supply and the Magicbook charger can be used to charge any other type C devices you have, Smartphone, Nintendo Switch etc.

Downsides of the Magicbook are the webcam is hidden under a function row key, so angle isn't particularly flattering. It also doesn't have a built in SD card reader, so you either have to connect things up via USB or carry a USB SD card reader.
splatsplatsplat23/08/2020 11:12