Groups

    Just to say ''Hi all'' We're back from our HOLIDAY FROM HELL !!

    .
    So glad to be back home in the UK from a complete nightmare of a holiday.

    Story here :

    Hundreds struck down in First Choice food poisoning


    timesonline.co.uk/tol…ece

    .

    54 Comments

    Original Poster

    Hundreds struck down in First Choice ‘food poisoning’



    timesonline.co.uk/tol…ece

    Glad to see you back

    Did you get any food poisoning? (terrible story!)

    That's horrible. Hope you are ok x

    Original Poster

    Liddle ol' me;2968574

    Did you get any food poisoning? (terrible story!)



    Yes we did & we are in the process (along with 100's of others) of suing for compensation,

    This is the review on the holiday I have put on several sites (we got home last Monday evening 8th Sept after 10 days - 4 days early)

    Board Basis: All Inclusive
    Date of Holiday: Sep 2008
    Tour Operator: First Choice
    Overall Rating: 1/10

    Comments: **WARNING*** DO NOT GO TO THIS HOLIDAY VILLAGE IN SARIGERME, TURKEY .. IT IS NOW UNDER INVESTIGATION FOR THE 3/4th YEAR RUNNING, FOR FOOD POISONING ETC, & unknown virus causing constant diarrhea,stomach cramps & WORSE! (UNBELIEVABLE THIS COULD HAPPEN BUT PLEASE BELIEVE ME IT IS TRUE .. JUST RESEARCH THROUGH GOOGLE FIRST & YOU WILL SEE FOR YOURSELF)
    We spent 10 horrible days here after being assured by First Choice before we went that there was nothing to worry about (If you speak to them even now they will deny there is a problem or anything wrong................) This all started just 36 hours ( the average time for people to become very ill ) of arriving at the Holiday Village, Sarigerme Turkey (Hotel Pegasos Tropical on the 'Orange' side)
    At first glance the Hotel & grounds are spectacular but what lies beneath is anyones guess ! (Talk is that it was built on a swamp, but I don't know if this is a fact or not ? )
    We were flown home 4 days early as both myself & my patner were so ill for 10 days with bad diarrhea & stomach cramps and feeling completely exhausted. We did not step foot out of the hotel front doors for our entire stay as we HAD to be close to a toilet & wouldn't of had the energy to do so anyway! There were many many other guests with the same condition, I would put the numbers over that 10 day period of AT LEAST 500 ...
    There is also a BIG PROBLEM there with children getting earache (which is being blamed on the poo in the swimming pools as people keep having accidents in because of the bad diarrhea) which I cannot comment on as I do not know any details of the earache other than there were LOTS OF CHILDREN WITH IT !
    If you are thinking of going my advice to you is DO NOT GO TO THIS HOLIDAY VILLAGE.
    & if you have already booked .......... DO NOT GO TO THIS HOLIDAY VILLAGE.

    Banned

    OMG, sorry to hear about it.....at least you'll be able to claim on the insurance for a refund

    Original Poster

    hellfire;2968602

    That's horrible. Hope you are ok x


    Thankyou hellfire xx ... feeling much better now

    oh dear snowtiger, really does sounds like the holiday from hell. Sorry you had to suffer all that and hope you get fully compensated with extra :thumbsup:

    Original Poster

    dontdothatagain;2968568

    Glad to see you back


    Thanks DDTA ...Wow your post count has gone up a bit ! :-D

    Original Poster

    Foosball Chum;2968629

    OMG, sorry to hear about it.....at least you'll be able to claim on the … OMG, sorry to hear about it.....at least you'll be able to claim on the insurance for a refund


    We had to pay £81.00 to the Dr. while we were there, we got off light (others we talked to had paid a few hundred!) & our insurance had a £100.00 excess on it so we cannot claim medical expenses back through them. As for claiming our holiday costs & expenses back the insurance doesn't cover that ............... we have to go through a lengthy process through a solicitor to try & get reinbursed .... I will post what happens as it goes along but will probably take anything up to year to sort out !

    snowtiger u poor thing... hugs... kids were really ill in fuerteventura and spent most of our time indoors as well.... makes for a really horrible time and all u want is to be home so i completely understand how miserable u must have been. hugs x

    Original Poster

    Liddle ol' me;2968646

    oh dear snowtiger, really does sounds like the holiday from hell. Sorry … oh dear snowtiger, really does sounds like the holiday from hell. Sorry you had to suffer all that and hope you get fully compensated with extra :thumbsup:


    Thankyou for your kind words :thumbsup: ................... yes fingers crossed.
    I just hope that the authorities manage to get this hotel closed down (This has quite unbelievably been happening on & off since 2005 !!!!! ) & sorted out asap before there is a fatality. It is so bad there I cannot believe they are allowing it to stay open & admit new guests :?

    That's terrible ST! I'm glad that you and your partner are feeling better. Glad to have you back:friends:

    Now that is awful. A huge letdown of a holiday - hope you get the compensation

    Original Poster

    magicbeans;2968801

    snowtiger u poor thing... hugs... kids were really ill in fuerteventura … snowtiger u poor thing... hugs... kids were really ill in fuerteventura and spent most of our time indoors as well.... makes for a really horrible time and all u want is to be home so i completely understand how miserable u must have been. hugs x


    Thankyou MB :friends: ... it's true 'there's NO PLACE'' like home !

    Original Poster

    Deek43;2968831

    That's terrible ST! I'm glad that you and your partner are feeling … That's terrible ST! I'm glad that you and your partner are feeling better. Glad to have you back:friends:


    Cheers Deek ... Defo Brighton & Skeggy next year !

    Thouhgt my holiday hell was bad but this beets it hands down, glad your all ok, Turkey off my list then :? liked the name tho SARIGERME v appropriate :thumbsup:
    Hope the comp is sorted soon

    I went here in July and it was brilliant, the food and cleanliness were as you would expect from a large all inclusive resort (good/great).

    Amazing how things can change in a few weeks, maybee the staff have changes or been cut back as the season draws to an end?.

    Original Poster

    Artonox;2968853

    Now that is awful. A huge letdown of a holiday - hope you get the … Now that is awful. A huge letdown of a holiday - hope you get the compensation


    Thanks

    happy donkey;2968906

    Thouhgt my holiday hell was bad but this beets it hands down, glad your … Thouhgt my holiday hell was bad but this beets it hands down, glad your all ok, Turkey off my list then :? liked the name tho SARIGERME v appropriate :thumbsup:Hope the comp is sorted soon


    lol at Sarigerme ... well spotted !

    Don't let this put you off of Turkey,

    We have been before to Altinkum & it was wonderful, we loved it ... no problems at all.
    It is just this Holiday village (which is hugh) which has 2 enormous hotels set in a massive complex with 17 swimming pools & beautiful gardens & grounds (500 rooms to each hotel) (Joy hotels )

    Poor you. How dreadful. I really don't understand why these holiday firms don't admit it - it makes them look doubly bad.
    We were all ill, years ago, in Egypt but the bug we had sounds less vicious than yours.
    If you've had Salmonella poisoning you'll be needing to have a good rest now. Have you been to your own doctor?
    I had to grimace at the article with the northerners thing. Clearly FC couldn't even tell their own staff anything properly. What a tale of stupidity. Northerners!!
    Take care. xxx

    ]http//ww…92/

    This also happend there a couple of weeks after we left, bit of a rubbish season for the holiday village Turkey

    Just wanted to say how i feel for you we've just got back from holiday and it was pretty disatorous but in a different way, hope you get compensation sorted xx

    Original Poster

    sonyphone;2968940

    I went here in July and it was brilliant, the food and cleanliness were … I went here in July and it was brilliant, the food and cleanliness were as you would expect from a large all inclusive resort (good/great).[COLOR=darkred]Everything looked lovely on first appearance to us too, & where the virus,bug, food poisoning or whatever it is was coming from knowone knows ?[/COLOR]Amazing how things can change in a few weeks, maybee the staff have changes or been cut back as the season draws to an end?.


    [COLOR=darkred]I am still reading some wonderful reviews from when we stayed, so it is not affecting everyone but the numbers of people who have been affected are well in the 1,000's ! :w00t:[/COLOR]


    [COLOR=darkred]I believe the 2 hotels can hold 5,000 guests each at any one time ....[/COLOR]

    sonyphone;2968972

    http://www.birminghampost.net/news/west-midlands-news/2008/08/21/jeep-safari-water-fight-leads-to-death-of-father-and-girl-8-65233-21575592/This also happend there a couple of weeks after we left, bit of a rubbish season for the holiday village Turkey

    sorry to hear of your terrible holiday.

    i hope you share your experiences in all the internet holiday reviews sites. - it maybe theraputic too.

    i did this after having a day out at Legoland. peple need to know the truth.

    Original Poster

    sonyphone;2968972

    http://www.birminghampost.net/news/west-midlands-news/2008/08/21/jeep-safari-water-fight-leads-to-death-of-father-and-girl-8-65233-21575592/This also happend there a couple of weeks after we left, bit of a rubbish season for the holiday village Turkey


    Yes this was tragic ... This was a local Sarigerme tour operator who we were also being warned against. Terrible accident.

    Original Poster

    chesso;2968959

    Poor you. How dreadful. I really don't understand why these holiday firms … Poor you. How dreadful. I really don't understand why these holiday firms don't admit it - it makes them look doubly bad.[COLOR=darkred]This was really annoying as the First Choice reps denied there was a problem while we were there & yet they were giving out ''free'' consultations with the hotel Dr. :whistling: who then charged you anything up to £100 for tablets ! (Possible scam ? !! ) also flew us home 4 days early free of charge.[/COLOR] We were all ill, years ago, in Egypt but the bug we had sounds less vicious than yours.If you've had Salmonella poisoning you'll be needing to have a good rest now. Have you been to your own doctor?[COLOR=darkred]Yes we both saw our Dr. as soon as we arrived home ... our tests have come back 'normal' ... we do feel much better, though still very tired & worn out ![/COLOR]I had to grimace at the article with the northerners thing. Clearly FC couldn't even tell their own staff anything properly. What a tale of stupidity. Northerners!![COLOR=darkred]We had to laugh at this too ![/COLOR]Take care. xxx


    :friends:[COLOR=darkred] Thanks Chesso xx[/COLOR]

    Original Poster

    Blue~Lion;2968977

    Just wanted to say how i feel for you we've just got back from holiday … Just wanted to say how i feel for you we've just got back from holiday and it was pretty disatorous but in a different way, hope you get compensation sorted xx


    Thankyou ... sorry to hear you had a disasterous holiday too x

    sorry to hear about your holiday - glad you are ok though (thats the main thing) hope you get compensation, sounds like you certainly deserve it. Isnt it terrible we book, look forward all year and then get so dissappointed. but as I said the main thing is you are ok.
    We have just written to Monarch - got to Orlando 36 1/2 hr after we were supposed to, sent to newfoundland, they didnt have any food for the whole of the 11 hr tip, 2 nights no sleep and they gave us a bag of chocolate between a family, not even a cup of tea! - oh well, we are all safe that the main thing X
    Holiday insurance only pays out £20 for firt 12 hr delay then 10 each 12 hrs - they paid out without quetion but £90 doesnt really cover 2 days car hire 2 days theme par tickets, 2 days accommodtion all lost so trying Monarch now - its crazy what these holiday companies get away with
    Take care Snowtiger and good luck

    Original Poster

    blackpeppa;2969035

    sorry to hear of your terrible holiday.[COLOR=darkred]thanks x[/COLOR]i … sorry to hear of your terrible holiday.[COLOR=darkred]thanks x[/COLOR]i hope you share your experiences in all the internet holiday reviews sites. - it maybe theraputic too.[COLOR=darkred]Yes my fingers have been very busy !![/COLOR]i did this after having a day out at Legoland. peple need to know the truth.


    [COLOR=darkred]Good for you ...... yes agreed the truth needs to be spread, these places are only too quick to grab your money & then not want to take responsibility when things go wrong.[/COLOR]

    Sorry to hear about your hols.
    Hope you get your compensation sorted XX

    Original Poster

    octobergirl;2969183

    sorry to hear about your holiday - glad you are ok though (thats the main … sorry to hear about your holiday - glad you are ok though (thats the main thing) hope you get compensation, sounds like you certainly deserve it. Isnt it terrible we book, look forward all year and then get so dissappointed. but as I said the main thing is you are ok.We have just written to Monarch - got to Orlando 36 1/2 hr after we were supposed to, sent to newfoundland, they didnt have any food for the whole of the 11 hr tip, 2 nights no sleep and they gave us a bag of chocolate between a family, not even a cup of tea! - oh well, we are all safe that the main thing XHoliday insurance only pays out £20 for firt 12 hr delay then 10 each 12 hrs - they paid out without quetion but £90 doesnt really cover 2 days car hire 2 days theme par tickets, 2 days accommodtion all lost so trying Monarch now - its crazy what these holiday companies get away withTake care Snowtiger and good luck


    Oh dear ... you sound as if you have been through it too Octobergirl, very sorry to hear this :friends: (Especially the not having a cup of Tea bit !!... excuse the pun but that defo 'takes the biscuit' !! ) Yes the insurance we all take out when we go on our hols seems not to cover an awful lot of the ''little'' things that go wrong ... not daft are they ? !!
    Will keep you up to date with how things go xx

    snowtiger;2969275

    Oh dear ... you sound as if you have been through it too Octobergirl, … Oh dear ... you sound as if you have been through it too Octobergirl, very sorry to hear this :friends: (Especially the not having a cup of Tea bit !!... excuse the pun but that defo 'takes the biscuit' !! ) Yes the insurance we all take out when we go on our hols seems not to cover an awful lot of the ''little'' things that go wrong ... not daft are they ? !!Will keep you up to date with how things go xx



    me too - thanks:thumbsup:

    awwwww thats horrible, hope you've all recovered ok. what a nightmare to be looking forward to a hol for so long and then it turning out to be a disaster. hope you get all you deserve in compo :thumbsup:

    Original Poster

    cassieismydoggie;2969218

    Sorry to hear about your hols.Hope you get your compensation sorted XX


    Thanks Cassie ... It's so good to be back xx

    Welcome back Snowtiger. Sorry to hear you had a bad time - there's nothing worse than looking forward to something such as a well-deserved holiday, only to be seriously let down like this. Hope you're feeling ok in yourself and good luck with everything. I know the compensation wont make everything better, but hopefully it'll pay for you to go on another holiday where you can relax and enjoy it :thumbsup:

    Original Poster

    lyndsbowes;2969349

    awwwww thats horrible, hope you've all recovered ok. what a nightmare to … awwwww thats horrible, hope you've all recovered ok. what a nightmare to be looking forward to a hol for so long and then it turning out to be a disaster. hope you get all you deserve in compo :thumbsup:


    We are lucky as we had already had a week in Portugal this year back in July but this one was meant to be 'special' our main 2 week holiday ... thanks for your kind comments:)

    snowtiger;2969456

    We are lucky as we had already had a week in Portugal this year in July … We are lucky as we had already had a week in Portugal this year in July but this one was our main 2 week holiday ... thanks for your kind comments:)



    awwwww so sorry to hear that your main hol was such a let down, hope you enjoyed your 1st hol enough to compensate :thumbsup:

    one of the worst things is to wait all year for a holiday pay all that money and it gets ruined, i hope you and your family are ok and that you are rightly compensated for a ruined holiday x x x

    Original Poster

    bargainbetty;2969414

    Welcome back Snowtiger. Sorry to hear you had a bad time - there's … Welcome back Snowtiger. Sorry to hear you had a bad time - there's nothing worse than looking forward to something such as a well-deserved holiday, only to be seriously let down like this. Hope you're feeling ok in yourself and good luck with everything. I know the compensation wont make everything better, but hopefully it'll pay for you to go on another holiday where you can relax and enjoy it :thumbsup:


    While we were there we met the 'wedding party' in the story here, who we all felt so sorry for ..
    thesun.co.uk/sol…ece
    28 people out of 31 were taken very ill ! out of this group alone !
    (& yet First Choice still quote there are only 1% of guests at the hotel ill .. !! utter rubbish !)

    Dozens of guests have claimed that the resort’s pools were being closed “ … Dozens of guests have claimed that the resort’s pools were being closed “almost hourly” due to faecal contamination



    NICEEEE. :?
    Post a comment
    Avatar
    @
      Text
      Top Discussions
      1. Samsung or Hisense45
      2. What's the most impressive 4k / UHD film you have seen at home?22
      3. What's the best gas and electric deals about ?77
      4. What to do?????710

      See more discussions