Expired

Kittens in my garden? I'm not an expert on pets so some advice please.

Found 11th Jun
So today noticed a cat hanging round the garden and we don't get cats ever. Anyway didn't think anything of it. Later on in the evening was taking out rubbish and Other Half noticed 2 kittens in the corner. Mums with her kittens now. Can someone please advise what to do. Should I leave mum and babies to it, should I put food out or water? any type of shelter like a box? or should I just leave them be?
Community Updates
AskHome & Garden
Top comments
Don’t move. Their vision is based on movement. They can’t see you if you don’t move.
Edited by: "beefkr10z" 12th Jun
annie_214 h, 36 m ago

My sister had a very similar case. She left the cats as they were. She …My sister had a very similar case. She left the cats as they were. She didnt mind so she fed them milk. She was not fussed with them living in her garden and her children absolutely loved the cats. It all comes down to whst u like etc.

Never feed cats milk
Even though they have gone, might be an idea to still put food and water out each day in the same place for a little while. Quite likely she'll come and check for it.
25 Comments
It could be a stray but you wouldn't know unless taking it to a vet, etc, to see if it's chipped. They'll probably know what to do next.

Have you tried approaching the mother? I'd probably try gain it's trust. Food and water is a good idea.

What do you want to do? I would be trying to get them indoors but that's just me.

cats.org.uk/hel…cat
Edited by: "rev6" 12th Jun
Have you got a local cats protection league branch or a cat rescue charity? I'd get in touch with them if you can. We're slap bang in the middle of the kitten season.
Take to local vets, Unless you can locate owner somehow?, Perhaps ask your neighbours if they might know?.