Laminate Flooring - Things To Consider Before You Buy

EDITOR 57
Posted 11th Dec 2019
Hey folks! I thought I'd write something that may help some of you with laminate flooring and making a choice. This is all down to my own experience and research when shopping around. I'm no pro but did pick up some things along the way that may prove useful.

This is primarily for those that don't really know about flooring, measurements and all that jazz. It may prompt buyers to ask additional questions or throw up some they didn't have before. To some it may all seem super easy, to others... not so much.

I've seen few comments in the past from members in the trade, which have offered additional advise, which is awesome. We need more of that! If anything crops up that may be of use here, I'll add it in.

Laminate flooring in general can seem a little tricky if you've not really delved in to it too much. It's much cheaper that using real wood flooring, but that doesn't really mean it's "worse" There are benefits to using laminate, besides it being cheaper. Here are a few things to consider:

Laminate vs Hardwood
Laminate is generally easier to maintain, more durable and resistant to scratches and moisture. Hardwood floors are super nice, but require a certain level of upkeep. So you can make a choice on what might suit you best.

What about the thickness?
In general thickness doesn't really translate into durability, but thinner laminates may be more susceptible to warping. In my experience buying the thickest you can afford in a design you like is the way to go. We used 12mm thick in our hallway and under the foot it's much closer to a real wood floor than I thought it was going to be.

How much laminate flooring will I need?