Groups
    EXPIRED

Laptop under £500 w/Dedicated graphics

Can anyone recommend a decent laptop with dedicated graphics for under the £500 mark?

I've looked at the Esprimo V5545 here
    http://www.laptopsdirect.co.uk/Fujitsu_Siemens_ESPRIMO_Mobile_V5545_VFY:EM7BV5545BJ6GB/version.asp

That seems ok but was hoping there would be something with Nvidia? I won't be gaming on it, but I'm a compter graphics student and will be doing a lot of 3D graphics rendering and video editing.

Thanks folks.

8 Comments

For decent graphics i would not dedicate a laptop at all. Desktops are always better for gaming. The laptops that are made for gaming cost loads! Here is an example,
    alienware.co.uk/pro…spx
    And they are the lowest spec ones. Just go for a desktop PC.

Hi,
    I don't claim to be an expert, but we bought our daughter a Fujitsu Siemens V5545 laptop for Christmas and am very disappointed in the performance of the battery life..approx 45mins of use on MSN, Bebo etc
    The laptop cost £400 at the time, so don't know if yours would be using the same battery??
    Regards
    Akastiggy

Original Poster

Unfortunately that isn't really an option as I need to have my work portable. The computers at Uni don't have the software I need. The ones in the labs are very limited on time available.

I'm not after something ground breaking, just something that will handle 3d graphics and cover me for the next year to 18 months.

Original Poster

akastiggy;1844431

Hi, I don't claim to be an expert, but we bought our daughter a Fujitsu … Hi, I don't claim to be an expert, but we bought our daughter a Fujitsu Siemens V5545 laptop for Christmas and am very disappointed in the performance of the battery life..approx 45mins of use on MSN, Bebo etcThe laptop cost £400 at the time, so don't know if yours would be using the same battery?? RegardsAkastiggy