Leak from flat above

Posted 30th OctEdited by:"hearts22"
So tonight we discovered some yellow liquid has been leaking today in our bath from the light fixture above the bath. Light still worked.

I turned off the electric for the lighting. I informed the agency we rent from and the block management company. Can't do much else since it's late.

I am not an expert with these things so bear with me: we have a combi boiler so could the water be from a water tank or something like that? I assumed it comes from the flat upstairs but if we have a water tank it might be that too I guess. I don't think we have one since we have a combi boiler, though.
3320655.jpg
The flats have the same layout on all floors so their bath should be just above ours. Why is the water yellow? (It looks a bit like urine). There are no stains yet on the ceiling. For now it's just dripping lightly from around that particular light fixture.

How would they go about repairing anything? Thanks in advance.
Community Updates
Ask
Top comments
Jordztar30/10/2019 22:17

Does it smell/taste of urine?Are you the owners or tenants? If you are the …Does it smell/taste of urine?Are you the owners or tenants? If you are the sole owners - do you have any home insurance?

Taste?
39 Comments
Hi, if your a one floor flat, then you could probably be sure the bathroom of the flat above is above your bathroom (they will share a waste) and probably has had a flood or has a long term leak somewhere. You probably want to speak to your upstairs neighbours. Your combi boiler is effectively your water tank, it heats the water as you need it, only storing so much, so its probably not that. Its unlikely to be your pipes, as they tend to be below the floor, but your neighbours pipes will be above you....so again, prob best to have a nice chat with the guys above to start with. Hope this makes sense.
Neil_Macarthur30/10/2019 21:26