Let's Talk about Plex baby!

8 replies
Found 12th Nov 2016
Hey everyone, I often see Alot of comments regarding plex on several deal posts and ask Posts. I'm also new to this so I'm hoping I can gain And share some knowledge.

So far I'm running my own personal plex set up from my laptop, I have 2 hard drives plugged in. 1x500gb portable and 1x1gb desktop. All associated folders with my content in are linked to my plex account and it works like a charm aging through my. Xbox one.

So to my question, moving forward I wish to share this stuff with my family and friends. Is it a simple case of me sharing my library with them once they create an account? Will I need a far better system setup to do this? I read about servers, nas drives and then amazon cloud streaming etc.

I'm not looking to share it with hundreds of people. Just a few.

I've browsed some plex sites and on reddit but these guys are far more advanced because they're talking about Streaming sky sports and stuff. But I can't really be bothered with All that.

1. Ask
  2. Baby
  3. Plex
8 Comments

I have no idea of the answer, but kudos for the title

Original Poster

chris75319

I have no idea of the answer, but kudos for the title

​Cheers pal, trying to throw some humour into what could be a super complicated thread

support.plex.tv/hc/…273
Not sure if you have browsed through this page but this will give you a bit of idea about requirements (internet upload speed)
support.plex.tv/hc/…043
The above link will give you an idea of system requirements.

I'll suggest to share with 1 of your friends or family and see how it works before investing into any system upgrades.