EXPIRED

Looking to build myself a new computer.

Hey, i think it's about time i have an upgrade on my computer and well i know building one myself is not only going to save me money but i'll get myself a better computer, i have been looking at novatech and spoke to one of their sales team via their online chat, he has suggested that i buy a barebone bundle and just get a new graphics card, optical drive and i'm going to switch over my hard drive.

Well what i'm asking here is what should i get, i have a budget of £400,

here is the barebone he suggested.
novatech.co.uk/nov…04A

i'm a total newbie to all this and have no idea what i'm buying. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

5 Comments

>well i know building one myself is not only going to save me money but i'll get myself a better computer,

If it is not going to to save you money why would it get you a better computer?

Most companies like Novatech will build a PC to order for you, putting in any parts you wish, so not sure why you thinking building one yourself would make it better.

> i'm a total newbie to all this and have no idea what i'm buying.

While it is good to build one yourself, we all have to start somewhere, things can go wrong, so your PC build could finish up costing you a lot of money if you damage the graphics card for example. So make sure you know what you are doing before you start.

Deciding which components to put in a computer build is often more difficult than actually building it, so take your time and do research.

A graphics card is one of the most difficult items to choose, and some can cost a lot of money.

You also have to find out if it will fit on your PC case (some cards are large and some cases small), and if your power supply is up to it (the Novatech at 550W would seem ok).

Generally that Novatech barebones bundle look pretty good.