M6 Crash - Lorry driver to be charged.

LocalFound 24th May 2017
Five people have been killed in a collision involving a lorry and a car on the M6 in Staffordshire.

Four females and a male, all believed to be adults, in a Nissan Micra died in the crash between junction 15 for Stoke-on-Trent and 14 for Stafford.

The lorry driver, a 60-year-old West Midlands man, has been arrested on suspicion of causing death by dangerous driving.

A sixth person is serious but stable following the southbound crash.

bbc.co.uk/new…153
Community Updates
Misc
Top comments
mrty

I'm a coach driver and all the time I see car drivers putting themselves … I'm a coach driver and all the time I see car drivers putting themselves at risk (I'm not saying this car driver was at fault), I drive a coach weighing 10 tonnes plus, with 45 people on board it then weighs 13 tonnes, so I lasagne a decent breaking distance. On a motorway I feel like I'm going backwards as car drivers drop into that space - reducing the breaking distance and putting themselves at risk. I don't know if the lorry rear ended the car, but surely it is time the police starting handing out tickets for dangerous driving to vehicles that close down a safe breaking distance?I have had several near misses because of this- heavy vehicles can't stop as quickly as a car, sui that gap is there for a purpose!On the other hand, lorries tailgating each other should be an offence too! (fine to reduce drag on second lorry, and increase fuel economy).

Perhaps you need stop measuring your stopping distance in Lasagne's??
frakison

​Oops, typo..but I'm not changing it. Too funny for that. X)