Mains change/ mains isolation

Posted 29th Mar
Contacted an electrician regarding installation of new consumer unit as our is reallly really old. He had a look (sent pic) and said he will not touch it until there is an isolation switch installed and that i will need a mains change. So my question is who should i contact and how much should i expect to pay for this.

Thanks
Community Updates
Ask
8 Comments
I'm no electrician, but I believe that the isolation switch would be installed by them, however they will require a temporary isolation of the supply (they can't do it live)

So you need to speak to your DNO Distribution Network Operator.

energynetworks.org/info/faqs/electricity-distribution-map.html

You may find they with things as they are they might not currently do it, but maybe give them a call and see.

Edit just to add, Surley the electrician should be telling you how to do this all? If they aren't maybe not to best to go with?
Edited by: "Bob24601" 29th Mar
Next to your electricity meter don't you already have a big switch and fuse already to isolate the power?
Every house I've lived in had them.
PaulandPam29/03/2020 08:58

Next to your electricity meter don't you already have a big switch and …Next to your electricity meter don't you already have a big switch and fuse already to isolate the power?Every house I've lived in had them.

There is a switch with the fuses but apparently there should be another switch that isolates power between the meter and the consumer unit.
Yes that's the one I was talking about, you should also have a great big fuse next to the meter with a security anti tamper seal on it.
If you haven't I'd contact your electricity provider and ask them about it.
PaulandPam29/03/2020 09:09