Making a small pond in the garden ?

Found 25th Jun
What would I need to do this...

make a hole...

add the pond liner and underlay

add some stones at the side

if I'm not planning on keeping fish because I have cats would I still need to add water filtration ? what's the easiest way to do this ?

also are there any good water features like a fountain people would recommend?

anything else I've missed?

Thanks!!!
Community Updates
AskHome & GardenGarden
12 Comments
I am no expert but am confident that without some form of bio process in the pond, you will have a nasty, smelly mess. I believe you can achieve this using plant life so perhaps contact a GOOD garden centre (probably an independent)

If you have children/grandchildren, or if such beasties roam into your garden, you need to be sensible about the hazard a pond poses. I am sure that the H&S fanatics people would say that means a 6' high barb wire perimeter with child 24x7 catcher patrols etc etc but I am sure something less can be safe.

Charlie Dimmock, of Ground Force fame, comes not unpleasantly to mind. I would not be surprised to find she has written/ghosted a book or youtube videos.
What you need is:
Performed pond (they are pretty cheap).
Performed waterfall
Pump and filter with uv bulb in it

Add water and put stones or rocks around the edge to finish.

Plants:
Iris and water Lilly
when i was a kid, i dugged a hole and added a bin liner ,, then few weeks later we got frog's 😁😁
cmdr_elito34 m ago

What you need is:Performed pond (they are pretty cheap).Performed …What you need is:Performed pond (they are pretty cheap).Performed waterfallPump and filter with uv bulb in itAdd water and put stones or rocks around the edge to finish. Plants: Iris and water Lilly

Hey is it preformed ? This site looks pretty cheap for it

pondkeeper.co.uk/sea…%3B