Mist Coat

Posted 11th Feb 2022
Not an item in an RPG.

Newly skimmed walls. I'm hearing of this mythical "mist coat". What's the difference between a mist coat and undercoat (I know a mist coat is diluted, but what I mean is why can't I just use an "undercoat")? I have seen some premixed "mist coats" (or something that supposedly does the same job):

screwfix.com/p/n…004

wickes.co.uk/Wic…443

Are they any good?

Is it really even necessary? Reading a few different things online from, it's not required at all and seems to be something that's recently cropped up, to it's been used since Roman times.

I'm pretty sure I've never done it before and not had a problem.

Hello and thank you.
Community Updates
Ask
New Comment

12 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
    Mist coats are essential. We're currently paying the price for a previous house owner just going straight in with an undercoat, what we thought was solid paint is peeling off in sheets. It might look fine initially but it won't last.

As for premixed stuff? To me that's like pre-diluted screenwash, you're paying for a whole load of water. We just use watered down white paint, then the same paint again for the base coat, then the colour on top (two coats if necessary). It might sound excessive, but we've had good results from it.
    MATT emulsion should be used for mist coats.
    You can water it down if you want but it isn't necessary, I don't spend the time watering it down.
    The technical behind this is that new plaster is porous like a sponge, it sooks up everything in the enviroment and the quicker you mist coat it once the plaster is dry, the better, as it will seal the wall.
    Same as bare bricks when it rains.
    Breathing, smoking, cooking, condensation, anything that distributes things into the air, your bare plaster will sook it up and "stain" it which will cause you problems painting it in the first place if you leave it too long unsealed.