MOT failure advice

Found 28th Mar
Looking for some advice on car maintenance. My car's MOT has failed with below reasons. It's a Ford fusion diesel 2010. My local garage wants £185 to fix it. Being an absolute beginner with cars I'm wondering if someone could comment if this is reasonable price or I should look out for other options.

2917485-u2l30.jpg
Thank you in advance..!
Community Updates
  1. Ask
  2. Mot
Groups
  1. Ask
  2. Mot
Top comments
gbabu11 h, 59 m ago

No. Haven't got time to check with other garages. This is a local garage …No. Haven't got time to check with other garages. This is a local garage based in West Lothian Scotland.

But you've got time to post on here... It takes a quick phone call.
40 Comments
Have you had any quotes from other garages? Seems very excessive to me, where is the garage based?
Have you priced the parts? They shouldn't be too expensive.
About a hours labour plus parts
Is it a free retest ?
If yes I'd shop around
Should be around the £100+ mark for gaitor and link to be done as on the same side
Might be worth you getting the parts from Eurocarparts on a Friday as they do discount codes that run all weekend
Pop your reg in and price the parts and see if you can get a mobile mechanic to do it or local garage
Also depends if it needs tracking which is usually £25-£30
Edited by: "Bradleigh" 28th Mar
These are very specific faults which any garage can give you a price to repair. Phone around. Repeat your post in an email to letters@honestjohn.co.uk and you will get some input from a trade savvy journalist and his team quite quickly (perhaps even in hours). I have used him for years and seldom had cause to disagree.

I am no expert but a 2010 Ford with 60k on the clock is likely to need some work for MoT. I have to presume the garage hasn't scammed you by making these items 'fails' surprises me..
Original Poster
bp241111 m ago